Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    England, where we like our beer warm and flat!

Blade of Jade - Poser 2012 as an Illustrational Tool

I've been using Pro 2012 for a month or so now, and am beginning to take certain features for granted, such as the SSS and an under-promoted benefit, which is the sheer speed improvements over previous versions. Also the ZDepth feature is vastly improved, so I thought I'd try and combine them all into one (hopefully) relevant/informative post, and also hopefully show the benefits of postwork over a base image.

I'm an illustrator at heart, and whilst I love to see photo-realistic renders for their sheer "Wow" factor, my own priorities lie elsewhere i.e. I like a render that looks like a painting or an illustration. With Poser 2012, I've finally got a workable tool that I can use with relative ease.

So, on to the render! Here is the basic render, which is nothing you couldn't achieve with Poser 2010 (actually it was rendered in Poser 2010), except it renders far, far faster in Poser 2012 (this includes not just the actual render itself, but the initial launch/loading of the scene file, and a particularly welcome improvement over 2010, which is the loading of all the texture maps which used to take an age):

base_render.jpg

Now, while this looks relatively OK to me, I know that I won't be happy until I've attacked it with Photoshop and my graphics tablet. First off however, I decided to add some atmospheric depth with Poser, so I switched on the volume option for the atmosphere, set at a density of .004:

atmos_004.jpg

...I also took the opportunity to make the blade of the sword an SSS material to show that feature. Next, I took the base render and the ZDepth render to Photoshop:

blade_of_jade_Z.jpg